Women's Asia Cup 2022: Watch - Big blunder from on-field umpire batter robs four runs and was dismissed on same delivery


Pakistan women and Sri Lanka women faced off each other in the 21st match of the ongoing Women's Asia Cup 2022 on 11th October, Tuesday.

The skipper of the Sri Lankan side, Chamari Athapaththu won the toss and opted to bat. The skipper opened the innings with Harshitha Madavi and scored 41 runs with the help of 9 boundaries.

The other batters, including Harshitha Madavi, failed to score runs with the bat. Oshadi Ranasinghe added 26 runs by coming down the order and helped her side to post a total of 112 runs on the board.

With a decent target on the board, Muneeba Ali and Sidra Ameen opened the innings for Pakistan but both batters failed to convert their starts into big numbers as Pakistan women lost 4 wickets for 51 runs. However, Nida Dar and Aliya Riaz played well in the middle and took the game away from the opposition. 

Summary of the match between Pakistan Women vs Sri Lanka Women:

Sri Lankan women's team

After the dismissal of Aliya Riaz who added 20 runs, Ayesha Naseem joined Nida Dar and took the game on her shoulder. With Nida Dar remaining unbeaten on 26 runs, Ayesha Naseem played a quickfire 16 off just 5 balls, smashing 2 sixes and registering their win over the Sri Lankan women.

Winning the game, Bismah Maroof, the skipper of Pakistan shared a few words in the post-match presentation about their performance in the battle against Sri Lanka women.

"How we bowled after the way they started with the bat, was really good. Omaima in particular was outstanding. They were quite positive from the start, put pressure on our bowlers but we responded well with the wickets.

We believe in our batting depth and wanted ourselves to be tested. She (Naseem) can win matches from any situation with the way she plays. Nida and Aliya batted well," Bismah Maroof was quoted as saying by Cricbuzz.

However, during the Pakistan inning, a big blunder was made by the on-field umpire as she has given a leg-bye four off Achini Kulasuriya's good-length delivery and also failed to give LBW as the ball was clearly seen hitting the middle and leg of the batswoman.

Watch the video here: