ENG vs IND Live: Watch - Mohammed Shami removes Cheteshwar Pujara for a duck in the warm-up game


Team India kicked off their first warm-up match against Leicestershire on 23rd June, Thursday. The skipper of Team India, Rohit Sharma won the toss and opted to bat first.

Besides, if the reports are to be believed, the former Indian skipper Virat Kohli has contracted coronavirus after returning from the Maldives. Moreover, the Indian players Cheteshwar Pujara, Prasidh Krishna, Jasprit Bumrah and Rishabh Pant have been playing for Leicestershire in this warm-up game.

The LCCC has made a statement about this and said, "India superstars Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah, and Prasidh Krishna will all team up with the Leicestershire squad, captained by opening batsman Sam Evans.

LCCC, BCCI, and the ECB have all agreed to allow the four players from the visiting camp to be part of the Running Foxes side, to allow all members of the travelling party to participate in the fixture (subject to fitness)."

It was about getting a big score: Cheteshwar Pujara

Cheteshwar Pujara

Cheteshwar Pujara shared a few words during an interaction with BCCI and said, "The most important thing was playing so many First-Class games. I was preparing for this when I was playing back home before I joined Sussex.

In the three games I played for Saurashtra in the Ranji Trophy, I found my rhythm, knew that I was batting well. It was about getting a big score and so when I had that in my first game, I knew that everything is back to normal now. Finding my footwork, the back lift was coming along well."

However, Cheteshwar Pujara has been dismissed by Mohammed Shami for a duck in this ongoing warm-up game. It was a good one from the right-arm pacer to dismiss the Wall of the Indian team.

Playing XI of India:

Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Virat Kohli, Hanuma Vihari, Srikar Bharat (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav.

Playing XI of Leicestershire:

Samuel Evans (captain), Louis Kimber, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Rehan Ahmed, Joey Evison, Samuel Bates, Roman Walker, Jasprit Bumrah, Will Davis, Abidine Sakande, Prasidh Krishna, Nathan Bowley.

Watch the video here: