T20 World Cup 2021: Babar Azam beats Virat Kohli in the race for 2500 T20I runs

Babar Azam defeated Virat Kohli to finish the fastest to 2500 T20I runs in just 62 innings.

Pakistani skipper Babar Azam overtook Virat Kohli when he was the fastest on 2500 T20I runs in just 62 innings. In that race, he dwarfed players like Australian Aaron Finch, New Zealander Martin Guptill and Indian Virat Kohli, who did the same thing in 68 innings. The 27-year-old beat Kohli by six innings, which speaks volumes about the latest modern day rivalry that is on the horizon. Previously, Babar had scored 39 of 34 balls in the first semi-final in Dubai against Australia. He also became the tournament's tallest run-getter.

Babar, who achieved the feat in just 62 innings, is closely followed by Kohli with 68 innings. Then come Aaron Finch (78) and Martin Guptill (83). Irishman Paul Stirling is also on the list.

He overtook the Englishman Jos Buttler and was the best running goal of the tournament. The 27-year-old managed the feat in the semifinals against Australia with six runs. Babar had a wonderful tournament leading his team to five out of five wins. They started the campaign by beating India over ten wickets and then beat every other team that got in their way: New Zealand, Afghanistan, Scotland and Namibia. He was eventually fired for 39 balls out of 34. If he gets a fifty, he could end up being the top run getter as the tournament is almost over and only the grand finale is imminent. He will also become the tallest run-getter from Pakistan in an entire edition of the T20 World Cup. He has 284 runs - the highest in the 2021 edition. Salman Butt accounted for 223 runs in the 2010 edition; Misbah scored 218 in 2007, followed by Shoaib Malik. (195 runs in the 2007 edition).

The flamboyant batter was the backbone of the Pakistani batting team and his great run in white ball cricket has catapulted him to the top of the ODI and T20I rankings. Babar has been the light of Pakistani cricket since its debut in 2015. He became the first Pakistani captain in history to beat India in a World Cup and also led his squad to the first T20 World Cup semi-final since the 2012 edition.