SA vs IND: Kagiso Rabada withdrawn from South Africa squad to manage workload


The premier pacer of South Africa, Kagiso Rabada has been released from the ODI squad due to maintaining his workload management. Kagiso Rabada is one of the finest bowlers across all formats for South Africa who can give the breakthrough at regular intervals for the side.

His absence in the ODI against India will be a huge loss for the Proteas, as the Indian batting order has the likes of KL Rahul, Virat Kohli who can destroy the best bowling line-up if they were not removed.

However, the 26-year-old didn't seem to be in the good flow in the recently concluded Test series against India but managed to bag some crucial wickets under his belt. He bagged 20 wickets in the three-match Test series against the visitors which shows that he has made his comeback in the longest format as well. 

No replacement for Kagiso Rabada for the ODI series against India:

Kagiso Rabada

Kagiso Rabada is in the action since the start of the second phase of the Indian Premier League that was held in the United Arab Emirates.

After that, the 26-year-old continued to feature in the T20 World Cup 2021 which took place in the same nation and got back to the field in the three-match Test series against India. However, South Africa has the services of Lungi Ngidi, Marco Jansen who can provide reliability in the pace attack for the side.

Also Read: Former Mumbai Indians player Rajagopal Sathish claims he was offered to fix matches

Considering the recent reports, a CSA's statement claimed, "No replacement will be brought in for [Rabada] as there is an extended squad in place in the Bio-Secure Environment (BSE), but George Linde has been retained from the Test team as an extra spin-bowling option for the series," quoted as in ESPN Cricinfo. 

Here is South Africa's squad for the three-match ODI series against India:

Temba Bavuma (captain), Keshav Maharaj (vice-captain, Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Marco Jansen, David Miller, Aiden Markram, Zubayr Hamza, Lungi Ngidi, Wayne Parnell, Janneman Malan, Andile Phehlukwayo, Sisanda Magala, George Linde, Kyle Verreynne, Dwaine Pretorius, Rassie van der Dussen, Tabraiz Shamsi.