Rohit Sharma excluded from South Africa tests due to injury

There is no confirmation that Rohit Sharma will play in the ODI series as the injury is considered serious.

Rohit Sharma was excluded from the away series with three tests against South Africa due to an injury to the left thigh muscles. Priyank Panchal, who led India A during the three-game streak that has just concluded, has replaced the opener. However, the series vice-captain was not mentioned in the announcement from BCCI.

It turns out that Rohit, who had been training at the Bandra Kurla Complex in Mumbai for the past week, sustained the injury during one of those training sessions. It is not yet clear if he will be available for the three-game ODI series for which he was named captain, but it can be confirmed that the injury is quite serious.

Rohit complained of discomfort to the support staff during training on Sunday when speaking about the limited number armband in an interview with bcci.tv. The tests were carried out by the physios on Monday and then the severity of the injury came to light.

Rohit did not check into the hotel in Mumbai where the members of the squad traveling to South Africa are under quarantine. Sources said the BCCI has relaxed biosecurity protocols for those who travel and reside in Mumbai with their families. Quarantine at home was recommended. Virat Kohli also did not check in at the hotel.

Panchal, the inaugural battery from Gujarat, scored 120 runs for India A averaging 40 in three innings with a high score of 96 against South Africa A. He played in 100 top-class matches, averaging 7011 runs of 45.52 and has 24 centuries on his name .

Read Here | Rizwan, Haider and Bowlers star in clinical victory against Westindies

The three-game series of tests between India and South Africa will begin December 26th to 30th at SuperSport Park in Centurion, followed by the second test at Wanderers in Johannesburg from January 3rd to 7th and the third test in Newlands, Cape Town on November 11th, 15th .

India’s Test squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Priyank Panchal, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur and Mohammed Siraj