PCB announces test team for Bangladesh tour

National selections today announced the Pakistani cricket team for the two Tests against Bangladesh in Chittagong (November 26-30) and Dhaka (December 4-8).

Opener Imam-ul-Haq, middle-class batter Kamran Ghulam and off-spinner Bilal Asif have been named to the 20-player squad, replacing Haris Rauf, Imran Butt, Shahnawaz Dahani and Yasir Shah, who were part of the 21-player side, who toured the West Indies in July / August.

The opener has been recalled on the back of a glowing form in the running Quaid-E-Azam Trophy, where he has so far accumulated 488 runs in five innings. The middle-class batsman Kamran Ghulam and the off-spinner Bilal Asif also find a place in the 20-man squad.

Bilal Asif has replaced leg spinner Yasir Shah, who has not fully recovered from his thumb injury sustained while playing in the T20 domestic tournament. Kamran is also returning to the squad after being eliminated during the Pakistani tour of the West Indies. The Pacers Haris Rauf and Shahnawaz Dahani were left out and are allowed to return to Pakistan after the T20I stage of the tour.

Kamran has returned after missing the West India tour. He was in the squad for the home series against South Africa after setting a Quaid-e-Azam Trophy record of 1,249 runs in the 2020/21 season. Kamran is currently in Sri Lanka with the Pakistan Shaheens, where he scored 58 out and 45 in two innings of the rain-hit four-day two-game series.

Here is the full Pakistan test squad:

Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan, Abdullah Shafique, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Bilal Asif, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Zahid Mahmood.

Also Read:  England will play two more T20Is during the Pakistan tour in 2022