Pakistan secures the series victory after a dramatic final over

What should have been a relatively easy chase turned into a dramatic finish when Pakistan lost three wickets in the final before triumphing.

Pakistan have taken a clean blow over Bangladesh in their Twenty20 streak, winning their third and final game with five wickets after an exciting final game on Monday.

Bangladesh totaled a mediocre 7-124, but a slow approach meant Pakistan needed eight runs out of the last six balls. Captain Mahmudullah played his only over of the day, sacking Sarfaraz Ahmed and Haider Ali in back-to-back deliveries before Iftikhar Ahmed knocked a giant six out of fourth ball and denied him a hat trick.

With two runs required by two balls, Iftikhar strove for fame but ended up caught behind. New batsman Mohammad Nawaz then hit a four through extra cover to bring Pakistan home. Mahmudullah finished his single game 3-10. Haider and Mohammad Rizwan had previously placed 51 for the second wicket for Pakistan.

Debut Paceman Shohidul Islam took his first wicket by removing Rizwan for 40. But Haider seemed in full control and hit 45 in 38 balls with three fours and two sixes before falling. Mahmudullah had chosen to hit first, but debut paceman Shahnawaz Dhani, spinner Usman Qadir and fast bowler Mohammad Wasim each claimed two wickets to curtail Bangladesh. Dhani took a wicket in his first on removing Najmul Hossain Shanto for five. Mohammad Naim was the home team's top scorer with 47 balls out of 50.

Read Also: PCB advertising head coaching position after Bangladesh Series

"The pitch was difficult," said Serie A player Rizwan. "When you play away you end up in different types of seats. But we're trying to stick with our process." "The thugs on both sides struggled," said Mahmudullah. “You have to spend time on the crease before you can capitalize on it. Naim did well. "

After the game, Bangladesh announced their squad for the first test against Pakistan in Chittagong, which begins Friday. The duo Mahmudul Hasan Joy, a batsman, and the medium-speed Rejaur Rahman Raja were recorded together with all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, who is pending a fitness rating.

The experienced opening hitter Tamim Iqbal retired from the series due to an injury. Bangladesh test team: Mominul Haque (c), Shadman Islam, Saif Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nayeem Hasan, Taijul Islam, Ebadot Hossain, Abu Jayed Rahi, Yasir Ali, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Rejaur Rahman Raja, Shakib Al Hasan.