Pak vs Ban: Asif, Imad was left out when Green Shirts announced a 12-man squad for the 1st T20I


Asif Ali and Imad Wasim were the notable absenteeists when Pakistan announced its 12-man squad for Twenty20 International's (T20I) first game against Bangladesh, due to be played on Friday.

The first T20I will be played at Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium on Friday, the statement said, adding that the second and third T20I will also be played in the same location on November 20 and 22.

Pakistan's 12-player squad, as confirmed by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), is:

  • Babar Azam (captain)
  • Shadab Khan (Deputy Captain)
  • Fachar Zaman
  • Haider Ali
  • Haris up
  • Hasan Ali
  • Khushdil Shah
  • Mohammad Nawaz
  • Mohammad Rizwan (porter)
  • Mohammad Wasim Jr
  • Shaheen Shah Afridi
  • Shoaib Malik

Read: Bangladesh gives Mushfiqur Rahim rest for Pakistan T20s

Mohammad Hafeez had withdrawn from the series to "give younger players opportunities".

The men's cricket team is in Bangladesh after a five-year hiatus. Together with the T20is, they will also play two ICC World Test Championship matches. The national team tour is part of the Future Tours program and follows the men's ICC T20 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates.

After the T20Is, the two teams will travel to Chattogram from November 26th to 30th for the first of the two tests at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium. In this match, the two sides will face each other for the first time since May 2015 in the top form of the game on Bangladeshi soil, when Pakistan won a two-match series by finishing the final Test with a mammoth 328 runs.

The two teams will then return to Dhaka to play the final test, which begins on December 4th. Pakistan has an impeccable record in testing against Bangladesh with 10 wins out of 11 games. They also have an impressive record in T20Is against Bangladesh, winning 10 out of 12 games.


November 19: First T20I, Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka

November 20: Second T20I, Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka

November 22nd: Third T20I, Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka

26.-30. November: First test, Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram

4-8 December: Second test, Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka