KKR star player heartbroken after missing out on India squad for Sri Lanka tour


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has recently announced the squad for the Sri Lanka tour which is going to conclude from 13th July. They have included a lot of young names into the squad and have sent some big names to England ahead of the ICC World Test Championship against New Zealand.

After the Finals, India is expected to stay in England for the five-match Test series against the hosts in the August window. Besides, it will be a great opportunity for the youngsters to show off their skills on the field. But a player from Kolkata Knight Riders' franchise was not happy as he has found himself away from his maiden call up. 

Sheldon Jackson was left heartbroken after not being picked up in the squad:

Sheldon Jackson was the player who was left out of the left which is going to tour Sri Lanka in the coming month. Sheldon Jackson has represented Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kolkata Knight Riders in the cash-rich contest and also played for Saurashtra as well.

He is a talented batsman and has featured in 76 first-class, 59 T20s, 60 List A games and amassed 5634, 1240 and 2096 runs to his name. In a recent interview with Cricket Next, the 34-year-old has said that "I’m 34. If I’m performing well, better than a 22-23-year-old, where is it written in the laws of the game that you’re not eligible to get picked for the national team?

Also Watch: What a dramatic finish to the first PSL return match

Who are those people judging you, and on ability are they judging you? By Ranji score? Fitness? If you’re scoring 800-900 runs consistently for two-three seasons, it means you have to be fit. Or you won’t be able to sustain it. So how can you be judged? Many a time I hear that ‘he’s above 30’. Where is it written that you can’t be picked? And who are these people who are taking away your right from you?." Sheldon Jackson expressed his feelings on Twitter by posting a heartbroken emoji on his official Twitter handle. 

India squad: Shikhar Dhawan (C), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (VC), Hardik Pandya, Suryakumar Yadav, Chetan Sakariya, Krishnappa Gowtham, Devdutt Padikkal, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Sanju Samson (WK), Prithvi Shaw, Manish Pandey, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishan Kishan (VC), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Varun Chakravarthy, Nitish Rana, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Krunal Pandya. 

Here are the posts of Sheldon Jackson and Rohan Gavaskar: