If in doubt, tour as Hope, Hosein and Greaves among five other positives for Covid-19 in the West Indies Camp

CWI and PCB hold meetings to determine the fate of the tour after all remaining tour participants are retested

The continuation of the West India tour through Pakistan is uncertain as five other members of the tour group tested positive for Covid-19. The five include players Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein and Justin Greaves, as well as assistant coach Roddy Estwick and team doctor Dr. Akshai Mansingh.

Cricket West Indies confirmed that all three players will not be available for the remaining scheduled games - a T20I and three ODIs - and that all five members who tested positive will remain in isolation for 10 days. They are not allowed to join the main group until they return negative tests. Once all remaining members of the West India tour group have been retested, CWI and PCB officials will meet to see if the tour can continue.

With Sheldon Cottrell, Roston Chase and Kyle Mayers previously excluded due to positive Covid-19 tests, and a finger injury to Devon Thomas (which was retained during the first T20I), the West Indies are now six players short, raising questions about whether they will Tour can continue.

West Indies now only have 13 players to choose from in their T20I and ODI squads, with the clubs being hit particularly hard. Only Nicholas Pooran, Brandon King, Shamarh Brooks and Darren Bravo remain available among the specialized batteries.

Read More Cricket News | Babar loses number 1 position as Shadab makes huge gains in the T20I rankings

Cottrell, Chase and Mayers had given positive results in the first tests carried out after the team arrived in Karachi on December 9th. The trio missed both of the T20Is they have played so far, with Pakistan taking the lead 2-0 after I won both. The third T20I is scheduled for Thursday, December 16.

West Indies have been to the tour without many of their older players due to rest, injury or personal reasons, with none of Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Evin Lewis or Fabian Allen available.