BCCI announces India's 16-man squad for the 2-match Test series against New Zealand


The Board of Control for Cricket in India has announced the 16-member squad ahead of the 2-match Test series against New Zealand. Ajinkya Rahane will lead the team in the absence of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli.

Cheteshwar Pujara will be serving as his deputy for the series. Moreover, Virat Kohli is also not available for the 3-match T20I series which is going to start on 17th November, Wednesday.

However, Virat Kohli will be available for the second Test against the Kiwis and will take over the leadership after getting back in Mumbai on 3rd December.

Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami are also not available for the Test series, as BCCI has given rest for both the pacers to reduce the workload on them. Following them, the regular wicket-keeper Rishabh Pant has also been rested ahead of the Test series. 

Rohit Sharma rested for the 2-match Test series against New Zealand:

Ajinkya Rahane - Rohit Sharma

BCCI has also given the rest for the limited-overs skipper Rohit Sharma, which will help him to get some relief from the workload. Wriddhiman Saha and KS Bharat have been included in the squad to do the job behind the stumps.

Moreover, KL Rahul will continue to play in the Test series after being the deputy of Rohit Sharma in T20Is. Ravichandran Ashwin has also been added to the squad and will be the lead spinner for the India team.

Also Read: IPL is drowning in cash, but what about the cricketers?

Interestingly, the BCCI has included Shreyas Iyer who is expected to bat at number four, in the absence of Virat Kohli. A plethora of sources claims that Shubman Gill is expected to be tried in the middle-order as KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal to open for the side.

With Ravindra Jadeja making his comeback in the Tests, BCCI included Axar Patel and Jayant Yadav to the squad. The pace department will be handled by Ishant Sharma along with Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj and Prasidh Krishna. 

India's Test squad for the 2-match Test series against New Zealand:

Ajinkya Rahane (Captain), Cheteshwar Pujara (Vice-captain), KL Rahul, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Mohammed Siraj, Ishant Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Prasidh Krishna, Virat Kohli (Available for the 2nd Test)