BCB includes shakib for Bangladesh tour of New Zealand

The Bangladesh Cricket Board decided to add an insecure Shakib Al Hasan to the 18-man squad for the upcoming tour of New Zealand.

The Bangladesh Cricket Board announced on Saturday an 18-person squad, including Shakib Al Hasan, for their upcoming two-game test series tour of New Zealand, despite the cricketer requesting a vacation for the series.

Saif Hassan, Rejaur Rahman Raja, Nayeem Hasan, who were part of Bangladesh's ongoing home test series against Pakistan, were excluded from the squad while Tempo bowler Shoriful Islam was added to the squad.

Shakib is unlikely to be available for the New Zealand tour. BCB President Nazmul Hasan confirmed the report, saying he had heard "informally" of Shakib's unavailability, but revealed that the all-rounder had not yet made an official request. Nazmul said a decision would be made as to whether and when Shakib should apply.

Meanwhile, Saif Hassan, Rezaul Islam Raza and Naim Hassan have all been expelled from the squad, while tempo bowler Shoriful Islam is the only new addition. The touring group is expected to leave for the two-game test series on December 9th, which will be part of the 2021-2023 cycle of the ICC World Test Championship.

Meanwhile, BCB sources confirmed to The Daily Sun on Saturday that Shakib will not be available for the upcoming two-game test series tour of New Zealand. The Tigers are scheduled to leave for New Zealand on December 9 and, after a seven-day quarantine before the test series, play two two-day training games.

Read More | Ramiz Raja reveals his secret plan with Babar to take Rohit Sharma's wicket

The series of tests, which will be part of the 2021-2023 cycle of the ICC World Test Championship, will begin on January 1st in Tauranga, while the second test will begin on January 9th in Christchurch.

Squad: Mominul Haque (Captain), Shadman Islam, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Liton Kumer Das, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Yasir Ali Rabbi, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi, Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Shohidul Islam, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Md Naim Sheikh