Bangladesh's top order collapses in first test against Pakistan


CHATTOGRAM - Bangladesh won the litter on Friday and decided to beat Pakistan first in the first test in Chattogram.

Bangladesh played Yasir Ali for the first time, while Abdullah Shafique will make his guest debut.

Bangladesh sees Captain Mominul Haque and seasoned Mushfiqur Rahim take over the heavyweight division for the lineup. The hosts will have to do without the injured Tamim Iqbal and Shakib Al Hasan, as well as the recently retired Mahmudullah, which is a huge void to fill.

Pakistan's middle order has to prevail when it comes to putting together an opening combo. Azhar Ali and Captain Babar Azam impart class and experience, while Mohammad Rizwan and Fawad Alam tend to contribute valuable lower tier runs throughout. The success of Babar and Rizwan in opening up in T20Is needs to be translated into tests in a medium-order dependency.

Pakistan has Shaheen Afridi and Hasan Ali picking up the new ball, with Faheem Ashraf ranking 7th as the all-round pace bowling option the spinner.

Read Here | Pak vs Ban: Babar Azam says the team will try to keep winning momentum in the test series

Pakistan has played three series in Bangladesh and won five of the six Tests, with their last win in Dhaka in May 2015 with 328 runs. Azhar Ali and Mushfiqur Rahim are the only players from either side to take part in this game.


Pakistan squad (from): Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain, wicketkeeper), Abdullah Shafique, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan and Shaheen Shah Afridi

Bangladesh squad (from): Mominul Haque (captain), Shadman Islam, Saif Hasan, Najmul Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Nurul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nayeem Hasan, Taijul Islam, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Abu Jayed Chowdhury, Yasir Ali, Mahmudul Hasan, Rejaur Rahman.