Ashes 2021-22: Australia confirms 15-person squad for the first two Tests, Alex Carey to debut

George Bailey said Carey was now a regular part of the Australian limited-over setup and even described the left-handed as an excellent cricketer.

The Australian team have announced their final 15-man squad for the 1st and 2nd Ashes friendly against England. And it has been confirmed that wicketkeeper batsman Alex Carey will make his test debut for the Kangaroos.

Australian side selectors chairman George Bailey said Carey was now a regular part of the Australian limited-overs setup, even referring to the left-handed as an excellent cricketer.

Bailey added that Carey will be the 461st player to wear the baggy green for the Australian team.

“Alex is a regular member of the national team in white ball cricket, especially in the one-day game. He is an excellent cricketer and a fine person who will bring many great strengths to the team. He will be a very deserving holder of Baggy Green Cap number 461, ”Bailey said on the official ICC website.

I am incredibly humble by this opportunity: Alex Carey

For his part, Alex Carey said he was humble with the opportunity presented to him, adding that he was looking forward to the massive streak that lies ahead against the English team. Carey added that his main focus now is helping Australia secure The Ashes, concluding that he will do his best to make Australia proud.

“I am incredibly humble of this opportunity. It's an exciting buildup for a huge series that lies ahead of us. My focus is on preparing and doing my part in helping Australia secure the ashes. I will do my best to make you and our country proud, ”concluded Alex Carey.

Read More | Alex Carey is replacing Tim Paine as the Australian wicketkeeper for Ashes

The first test is scheduled to begin on December 8, 2021. The previous Ashes series between England and Australia ended 2-2.

Australia squad for 1st and 2nd Test: Pat Cummins (C), Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith (VC), Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner