"If I was the chairman of the selection committee, Shami is definitely in the team" - Kris Srikkanth on India's T20 World Cup 2022 squad


On 12th September, Monday, the 1983 World Cup winner, Krishnamachari Srikkanth opined that Mohammed Shami should be added to the main squad instead of the youngster, Harshal Patel ahead of the T20 World Cup 2022.

Recently, the Board of Control for Cricket in India has announced the 15-member squad that will take place in the mega ICC event in Australia. The top-three premium batters, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul and Virat Kohli will be the top-order batters as we all know.

The pace bowling department has got the services of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel, as Team India badly missed Jasprit Bumrah in the recently concluded Asia Cup tournament.

In that case, the Tamil Nadu-based cricketer Krishnamachari Srikkanth shared his thoughts in the show 'Follow the Blues' hosted by Star Sports. "If I was the chairman of the selection committee, Shami is definitely in the team," the former Indian cricketer was quoted as saying by Circle of Cricket.

Mohammad Shami is the right guy: Krishnamachari Srikkanth

Mohammed Shami - T20 World Cup 2022

Following that, the 62-year-old added, "We are playing in Australia, the guy's got the real action, the guy's got bounce, he can bare the moment and he can get on early wickets, so I would have probably got Shami instead of Harshal Patel. Yes, Harshal Patel is a good bowler, no doubt about it, but Mohammad Shami is the right guy,"

"I mean they can say not the scheme of things, he's only for Test cricket or one-day cricket but we are playing in Australia. That guy has done well last IPL, so Shami is the must in my team," said Krishnamachari Srikkanth.

Here is the squad announced by BCCI for T20 World Cup 2022:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Standby Players: Mohammed Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Ravi Bishnoi.