BCCI announces 16-men ODI squad for West Indies tour, Shikhar Dhawan named captain


The historic fifth (rescheduled) Test between England and India successfully got the result at Edgbaston in Birmingham. Having a look at the match, the hosts won the toss and asked Jasprit Bumrah and his men to bat.

In the first innings, India posted a huge total of 416 runs with the help of Rishabh Pant's 146 and Ravindra Jadeja's 104. Following that, England has been decent with the bat in their first inning and has been bowled out for 284 runs by the visitors.

Jonny Bairstow helped his team from falling on follow-on by scoring 106 runs. In the second inning, India has a lead of 132 runs and has been bowled out for 245 runs. Cheteshwar Pujara and Rishabh Pant have been the best with the bat, scoring 66 and 57 runs respectively.

With a target of 378 runs on the board, the No.1 Test batter, Joe Root and the in-form batsman Jonny Bairstow finished off the things as England levelled the series by 2-2. Jonny Bairstow and Joe Root have done the job for England, scoring 114 and 142 runs and helped their side to level the Test series against India.

No Hardik Pandya in the squad:

Hardik Pandya

Recently, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the 16-member squad for the upcoming series against West Indies.

The three-match ODI series will kick off on 22nd July, Friday with players like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, KL Rahul and Rishabh Pant have been given rest in this series.

Shikhar Dhawan has been added to the squad and to lead India with Ravindra Jadeja named as his deputy. On the other side, Rohit Sharma and his men preparing well for the upcoming ODI and T20I series against the hosts, England.

Moreover, in the upcoming tour against West Indies, the premier cricketers would return to the squad as they have 5 T20I games in this series. Notably, the Baroda all-rounder Hardik Pandya has been not picked for this tour and the reason for that is yet to reveal.

India's 16-men squad for the West Indies tour:

Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Ravindra Jadeja (vice-captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Shardul Thakur, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh.