Reports: IPL 2020 to feature 10 teams; 2 new teams to be auctioned in May


If the reports are to be believed, we can witness the action of ten teams from the 2022 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Earlier, there were reports that 10 teams could play in 2021. 

But, due to lack of time and other reasons, it could not happen. The upcoming edition of the cash-rich T20 league is set to be played from April 9. The auction for the two new teams will take place in May. 

Ahead of the upcoming season, the Sourav Ganguly-led BCCI and secretary Jay Shah met in a meeting. During the meeting, the IPL Governing Council agreed to have 10 teams in the IPL 2022. 

BCCI source opens up on IPL’s future

“The 10 team IPL will roll on from next year and the bidding process and finalisation of the new franchises will be completed by the month of May this year. Once the teams are finalised, they can start their operational work which takes considerable time,” a senior BCCI official said. 

In 2011, the IPL had ten teams with Kochi Tuskers Kerala and Pune Warriors were new teams. But, the Kochi franchise was terminated by BCCI in 2012 and later, the team's number was reduced to eight. 

The last edition of IPL had played in UAE due to more coronavirus cases in India. But, they are hopeful of conducting the tournament in India. They also conducted two domestic tournaments - Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy and Vijay Hazare Trophy without any trouble. 

Back in February, international cricket to India with the Test series against England. Both the teams are now playing the five-match T20I series at Ahmedabad.