IPL 2022: Full details of 10 IPL teams, Retention Rules, Date and Time, Venue and Broadcasting partners


The 14th edition of the Indian Premier League got a fantastic finish last month in Dubai where Chennai Super Kings lift the trophy for the 4th time in the history of IPL. As of now, the upcoming edition of the Indian Premier League is likely to conclude in April 2022. Moreover, the cash-rich contest which featured eight teams will be expanded to ten teams with Ahmedabad and Lucknow as the new participants. 

IPL 2022 Mega Auction

Considering the recent reports, the mega-auction of IPL 2022 is likely to commence on the first week of January. It claimed that the timing for the auction will be around 3:30 PM.

IPL 2022 Retention Rules

With the addition of the two new franchises (names are yet to be revealed), are all set to feature in the 15th edition of the Indian Premier League. According to the reports from other sources, the existing eight teams were allowed to retain their players from November 1st to November 31st.

After that, the window will open for the two new franchises which are dated from December 1 to 25th. Once the franchises announce the retained players, BCCI will conduct the mega-auction in the first week of January. 

Live Streaming

The broadcast for the 15th edition of the Indian Premier League will be held by the Star Sports Network. Considering that, Star Sports Network will telecast the mega-auction on the big screens whereas Disney+ Hotstar is likely to stream online for their users.

Also Read: "Why should he go to India A tour, why can’t he play a Test match at home?" - Ajay Jadeja

Moreover, apart from the eight teams, the two new teams will be looking to build a strong team by picking up some talented players in the auction. Hence, we can expect a mouth-watering show in the upcoming season of the Indian Premier League.