Gautam Gambhir reacts after CSK clinches fourth IPL title


The Indian Premier League final in Dubai in 2021 will feature Chennai Super Kings vs. Kolkata Knight Riders. CSK is in its ninth final and is aiming for their fourth championship. While this is KKR's third IPL final, they are hoping to win their third IPL championship.

Eoin Morgan won the toss and elected to bowl first, continuing a recent pattern. For the top match, both clubs had an unchanged starting eleven.

CSK had gotten off to a fast start thanks to Ruturaj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis earlier in the game. Gaikwad had to score 24 runs to win the orange cap, and he accomplished it while using the powerplay to his advantage. CSK reached 50 without loss in six overs thanks to a 50-run stand between the two batsmen during the powerplay. After hitting 32 runs, Gaikwad was bowled, and Robin Uthappa stepped up to the plate at number three.

As soon as he emerged, he immediately began to let go. Sunil Narine dismissed Uthappa after he had scored 31 runs off 31 balls, including three sixes. The IPL 2021 saw another fifty by Du Plessis. Moeen Ali proved to be an excellent business associate. Both batters ripped the KKR bowling attack to shreds, scoring 68 runs in only 7 overs against them.

Chennai Super Kings

Du Plessis came within two runs of tying his opening partner at 635 runs, but he was bowled out on the final delivery when he needed two more runs to do so. Du Plessis smashed seven fours and three sixes in 59 balls to score 86 runs. Moeen Ali scored 37 from 20 balls, including two fours and three sixes, to stay unbeaten.

KKR got off to a fast start thanks to Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer. When Iyer was on zero, MS Dhoni lost a simple catch. KKR scored 55 runs for no wicket in the first six overs because of the excellent powerplay performance of both openers.

Venkatesh Iyer hit his third fifty of the game and combined 91 runs with Shubman Gill for the first wicket. After that, however, KKR lost a flurry of wickets and moved from 91/0 to 108/4. KKR collapsed from 119/4 to 125/8 with to another fifty from Gill.

Towards the end of the innings, Shivam Mavi and Lockie Ferguson exchanged lusty blows, but they were rendered ineffective as the asking rate climbed. In the end, it was a 27-run victory for CSK, who took home their fourth IPL championship in a row.