BCCI announces schedule of IPL 2021


The IPL Governing Council announced the schedule for the next edition of the IPL tournament which is to be held in India. The cash-rich T20 league will be played in Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Mumbai, Kolkata and Delhi. 

The upcoming season of IPL will kickstart on 9th April 2021 in Chennai. The first game of the season will be played between defending champions Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore. 

The World's Largest Cricket Stadium - Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad will host the playoffs and the finals as well on May 30 2021. It is the newly built stadium that hosted the final two Tests between India and England. 

Each team will play at only four venues during the league stages. While Chennai, Mumbai, Kolkata and Bengaluru will host the 10 games each, Ahmedabad and Delhi will host the 8 games each. But, the highlight is all the teams will be played at neutral venues and no team will play at their home venue. 

There will be 11 doubleheaders during the upcoming season of IPL. The afternoon games are scheduled to start at 3.30 PM IST while the evening games will start at 7.30 PM IST. 

The BCCI is confident of hosting the tournament after successfully hosted the last edition of the tournament in UAE. Each team will travel only three times during the league stages, thus reduced the risk of getting coronavirus. 

The tournament will be played behind closed doors and the decision of allowing the spectators will be taken during the later stage of the tournament. 

Here is the complete fixture of IPL 2021: