South Africa's star bowler rule out of test series of three test matches against India

South Africa have suffered a severe blow in the form of pacemaker Anrich Nortje, who was excluded from a three-game test series due to an ongoing injury. Cricket South Africa will not announce a replacement for the fast bowler.

The Proteas received a massive blow on the eve of the first Test against India with news that the fast bowler Anrich Nortje was excluded from the three-match test series due to an ongoing injury.

According to Cricket South Africa's press release on Tuesday, Nortje "has not recovered sufficiently for the expected test match bowling stresses and is currently consulting with specialists to manage and advise on his recovery."

In 12 test matches he has won 47 wickets with an average of 28.1. The 28-year-old has built an impressive partnership with Kagiso Rabada and his absence could make it easy for guests looking to win their first Red Ball Series win in the Rainbow Nation.

No player was called up as a replacement.

Also Read | 2 Ashes tests, 2 defeats: not much is going on for England

The Proteas began their final preparation before the first test, which began on Boxing Day at SuperSport Park, Centurion. The test series will be part of the new cycle of the ICC World Test Championship.

It's South Africa's first series of tests since their 2-0 away win over the West Indies in July.

India won a 1-0 test run against New Zealand last month but had a poor test record in South Africa - only winning three of the 20 games they played.

Test squads:

South Africa

Dean Elgar (captain, Titans), Temba Bavuma (vice-captain, Lions), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper, Titans), Kagiso Rabada (Lions), Sarel Erwee (Dolphins), Beuran Hendricks (Western Province), George Linde (Western Province), Keshav Maharaj (Dolphins), Lungi Ngidi (Titans), Aiden Markram (Titans), Wiaan Mulder (Lions), Anrich Nortje (Warriors), Keegan Petersen (Dolphins), Rassie van der Dussen (Lions), Kyle Verreynne (Western Province), Marco Jansen (Warriors), Glenton Stuurman (Warriors), Prenelan Subrayen (Dolphins), Sisanda Magala (Lions), Ryan Rickelton (Lions), Duanne Olivier (Lions)


Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj

Standby Players: Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Arzan Nagwaswalla.