Here's how India can qualify for ICC World Test Championship Final after getting defeated by England in Edgbaston Test?


The historic fifth (rescheduled) Test between England and India successfully got the result at Edgbaston in Birmingham. Having a look at the match, the hosts won the toss and asked Jasprit Bumrah and his men to bat.

In the first innings, India posted a huge total of 416 runs with the help of Rishabh Pant's 146 and Ravindra Jadeja's 104. Following that, England has been decent with the bat in their first inning and has been bowled out for 284 runs by the visitors.

Jonny Bairstow helped his team from falling on follow-on by scoring 106 runs. In the second inning, India has a lead of 132 runs and has been bowled out for 245 runs.

Cheteshwar Pujara and Rishabh Pant have been the best with the bat, scoring 66 and 57 runs respectively. With a target of 378 runs on the board, the No.1 Test batter, Joe Root and the in-form batsman Jonny Bairstow finished off the things as England levelled the series by 2-2.

Jonny Bairstow and Joe Root have done the job for England, scoring 114 and 142 runs and helped their side to level the Test series against India.

How can India qualify for the WTC finals?


After getting defeated by India in the 5th and final Test match of the series, they have moved to 4th position in the ICC World Test Championship table. Till now, India has played 12 games where they won 6 and lost 4 matches with 2 resulting in a draw.

However, Rohit Sharma-led side still has the chance to qualify for the finals as they have yet to travel to Bangladesh for the two-match series. Moreover, they will be hosting a 4-match Test series against Australia.

With 6 matches in hand, India has to win all the remaining games against Bangladesh and Australia to increase 72 points on the table and can also gain a win percentage of 68.05.

However, Australia has 10 games in this WTC cycle and they have to win just 6 out of them. Likewise, Australia and Pakistan have to win 6 out of the remaining seven games on the way to the ICC World Test Championship 2023.